“Pink” Pancakes

I made these for the first time this weekend from the bunch of beets we got in our CSA box. I don’t care for beets normally, so I thought I would put Jessica Seinfeld’s book, “Deceptively Delicious” (that I’ve had for a few years now) to use! I didn’t make it exactly like her recipe (she calls for store-bought pancake mix, which of course is mostly made with white flour (even most of the supposed “whole grain” mixes) She also calls for ricotta cheese, but because the blender pancakes have buttermilk, I didn’t think it necessary) but it still turned out so tasty! My new favorite pancakes. And kids love them, too because they are literally bright pink! Just watch out for your carpet if any pieces get dropped on the floor!

“Pink” Pancakes

Make Blender Pancake recipe.

After adding the egg and dry ingredients right before cooking, add 1/2 an apple and 1/4 C pureed beets and 1/2 teaspoon or so cinnamon.

To puree beets, trim stems to 1-inch. Wrap in foil and roast for around an hour at 400º. Peel the skin off and blend in food processor, blender, magic bullet or food mill (I got the smoothest texture with my baby food mill). (I actually forgot to peel the skin off before blending and it turned out fine.) You can store the leftovers in ice cube trays in the freezer or just put plops of it on a plate lined with parchment paper in the freezer, then store in a plastic freezer bag.

CAUTION: Beets are messy and they STAIN! Your fingers will look really pretty!

Leave a Reply

