Pray for Japan

I went to storytime at the library yesterday with my child and all of the books were stories and songs about Japan. I realized how little I know about other cultures besides my own little sheltered life in America.  Then a disaster like this happens and it brings one closer to people you don’t know and have never met because of compassion and common fear.

There is plenty to fear. When God’s Word says “Do not fear” it is not because there is no reason to fear. We tell kids not to fear because monsters aren’t under their beds and they aren’t real. But for every thing we needn’t fear, there are 100 very real things for us to fear in this life. And even though there are many major things that could go very wrong every single day, God wants us to put our trust in HIM alone when calamity strikes. There is a song that goes, “When I am afraid I will trust in You, I will trust in You, I will trust in You.” We sing it with our kids and I sing it myself. When fear, or earthquake, or tsunami comes upon us, I will trust in Him.

What else could we do? “And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?” Jesus said (Matt 6:27)

Where else could we go? “You alone have the words of life.”(Jn 6:68) “From the end of the earth I call to you when my heart is faint. Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.” (Ps 61:2) “Hide me in the shadow of your wings” (Ps 17:8)

 

This Psalm has been on my mind for a few days now:

Psalm 46

1 God is our refuge and our strength, a very present help in trouble.

2 Therefore, we will not fear though the earth gives way, though the mountains be moved into the heart of the sea,

3 though its waters roar and foam, though the mountains tremble at its swelling. Selah

4 There is a river whose streams make glad the city of GOd, the holy habitation of the Most High.

5 God is in the midst of her; she shall not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.

6 The nations rage, the kingdoms totter; He utters His voice, the earth melts.

7 The LORD of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress. Selah

8 Come, behold the works of the LORD, how he has brought desolations on the earth.

9 He makes wars cease to the end of the earth; He breaks the bow and shatters the spear; He burns the chariots with fire.

10 “Be still and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!”

11 The LORD of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress. Selah

 

So really, SELAH. Sit and be still. Meditate on how the Lord is our fortress. And pray that those in Japan can know a Fortress for themselves.

  • Pray that the Gospel comes to Japan in a fresh way and dead hearts are revived. Pray that many will know salvation through this devastation.
  • Pray for hurting hearts to be soothed by the salve of His comforting love.
  • Pray for the wounded to be healed by Him.
  • Pray that they will have no fear in this fearful time, when they go to bed at night and things are dark and they are experiencing aftershocks.
  • Pray for the single moms with little kids, in their houses all alone.
  • Pray for those who no longer have homes.
  • Pray for His will in all things!

I’m sure there are so many more things to pray for, but these are the things that have been on my heart as I have been watching the devastation in this part of the world that needs Him so badly.

One comment on “Pray for Japan

  1. sue hayden says:

    Well Put Heather. We have been praying today and will in the coming days. They do need Him so much at this time and all-the-time.
    Thank you for posting the Psalm–God’s Word is always fitting.

Leave a Reply

