Thoughts on Bin Laden

Believers, I have a question: Are we to rejoice that our enemy is dead? Don’t get me wrong, I love America and it is a good thing that a dreadful enemy of our country and one that is responsible for taking many American lives is now no longer on the earth. Nationally, it is a great victory. Militarily, it is a great victory and makes me proud of our SEALS. Many civilians and military alike have died because of this enemies evil and hatred and false religion.

But as I read many Tweets and Facebook status updates, I can’t help but feel conflicted and a bit saddened. We are to love what God loves and hate what God hates, right? And to be sure, God does hate wickedness. But His Word also says, He has “no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but that the wicked turn from his way and live.” (Ezekiel 33:11) And wicked Osama Bin Laden was. So is our Christian response to be rejoicing in this time? Or mourning?

Like I said, please don’t misunderstand me. I think it a great victory for our country and really, for the world, in terms of safety and morale. But for a Christian to say, “I’m glad he’s finally getting what he deserves” and “I’m glad he’s burning right now”… WOW. I’m just not sure that’s what a godly reaction would look like.

Yes, justice is being served. Yes, he is paying for the sin he committed. Moreover, he is paying the price of the rejection of God’s Son.

But what about your unsaved mother? Or your unbelieving best friend? Or your child who has rejected Christ’s atonement. Do you wish the same for them? They are in the same place Osama Bin Laden was: at war with God. No, they haven’t murdered people. Or have they? (anger). No, they don’t think they’re getting 70 virgins when they get to heaven. But they have lusted. And they are guilty by the same standard as Bin Laden was. They are just as deserving of eternal damnation and hellfire. But would you rejoice and be stoked on the fact they are “burning”? I think not.

Christians, let’s have God’s heart and mourn a sinner that is most likely in the depths of hell as we speak. Not because we are wishing he was still here threatening and plotting against us, because, of course we aren’t. But because he is getting all that he deserved.

(*To be fair, the verse quoted above is God speaking to the Israelites in their disobedience. Also, God is completely just in his judgements and his ways. So I am not saying we should mourn the sinners death because they don’t deserve it. They had chance after chance after chance to turn from their wicked ways and live. They rejected God’s right path and walked on their own path… right into hell. So I am not kicking against the plan or the Way that God set up for justice to be served. I am just saying, let’s not rejoice over eternal damnation of a wicked sinner when even God Himself is not rejoicing to send one to hell.)

2 comments on “Thoughts on Bin Laden

  1. I posted this morning that I had peace knowing he was in hell & that justice had been done. I deleted it less than 2 minutes after that. My flesh jumped on board with the rest of the world, I even found myself filling with pride being that I’m a Veteran…I served my country to protect it from men like this! I explained to my son Anderson a different view from what I had said earlier this morning. I told him that Osama Bin Laden was really no different in the eyes of God, still His child, still a sinner & that he is no more a sinner than any of us are. Our judgement of his sin is worldly judgement, not Godly judgement. David killed thousands & still he was a man after God’s own heart! God loved Osama, He still does & I believe He is greatly saddened that he is in hell now. He is saddened just like if MY unsaved Mother & Father went to hell.

  2. Jenn says:

    Thank you Heather. I felt the same way I as I was watching news reports and hearing peoples comments. Thank you for posting.

Leave a Reply

