Egg-less French Toast

Since finding out that my husband is highly allergic to eggs, and being unwilling to use egg-replacers, I assumed our family breakfasts would no longer include French Toast (along with many other beloved egg-filled recipes). But I wrongly assumed! I discovered an egg-less French Toast that turned out to be the most delicious French Toast I have ever had. (Or maybe I think it is so scrumptious because I was faced with not making French Toast again, so anything would have tasted good.) Whatever the reason, I’m so happy we have this as part of our breakfast recipe repertoire! (***note: I think eggs are an incredibly nutrient dense and healthy food. I would use eggs if I could. But for all those who are also unable to have eggs, I wanted to share a recipe showing that things can still taste good without them!)

Eggl-ess French Toast

2(ish) ripe bananas

3/4 C milk

1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (also can add nutmeg, cloves, etc…)

1 teaspoon real vanilla extract

Whole Wheat bread, soaked or sprouted if possible

lots of butter for cooking

Blend bananas, milk, cinnamon and vanilla. Pour into dish and dip bread slices into the mix, coating both sides. Fry in butter in medium-hot skillet until golden brown. Serve with real maple syrup, pecans (or other nuts), sliced bananas, and more butter if desired!

Serves 2-4

One comment on “Egg-less French Toast

  1. I’m always finding I want to make breakfast but I don’t have eggs in the fridge. Perfect solution!

Leave a Reply

