Book Review: Living Organized

I think this may be one of those books that gets really high reviews and really low reviews, depending on the situation of the person who reads it.

I bought this book after missing a friend’s wedding because I thought it was the next day. The book was on my book list, so obviously I recognized that I was in need of some general help in the area of organization. But after missing the wedding, I literally logged on to Amazon and clicked ‘purchase’ right then and there.

Well, it disappointed. But like I said, maybe it depends upon the personality or level of need in the person doing the reading. I know how to be organized and I know how to clean. I don’t have a problem with not knowing my decorating style and my husband is great in this area and does not contribute to the messiness. These are situations and problems she emphasizes in this book and then offers advice on how to deal with them. Since I don’t have those particular problems, the book was not as beneficial to me as it maybe would be to some.

But it was well worth the $9.99 to find out what my problem really is.

Inability to make a decision
So many things in my house accumulate because I just don’t know what to do with it at the time. Better to do nothing than make the wrong decision, right? Yeah, that’s not working so well for me.

Mess-maker
I have kids and stay home with them. Meaning that I make and clean up 3 meals a day. And I homeschool, which sort of adds constant mess all throughout the day, if I’m not careful.

Procrastination 
It can wait until later when I really need to do it.

Avoidance of frustration
Leaving things undone because I don’t want to deal with the frustration of it right now… only to deal with the frustration of it later. Frustration never just goes away.

Desire for instant gratification
“I’m so hungry; I want to eat the sandwich now! I’ll put the mustard away after I’m done.” Gets me a cluttered kitchen and house in no time.

The very most helpful part of the book for me, took up one whole page. Just one.

A Procrastinator’s Creed:

  • I will make the bed as soon as it is empty.
  • I will clear the table and do the dishes and clean the kitchen immediately after eating. I will consider cleanup part of the meal.
  • I will put away what I get out and will not say I will be using it again soon.
  • I will handle the mail as soon as I pick it up and will not leave it in a pile to consider later.
  • I will hang up my clothes and put away my shoes as soon as they are off my body.
  • I will remember those three tender little words: “DO IT NOW.”

So that’s my game plan, “DO IT NOW.” Thank you, little average to less-than-average book for your $10 page of gold.

Hard to give a straight review because of the subjectivity involved, but sadly, I have to give it a C.  May be helpful to those in need of professional-level organizational help!

Rating: C. Average

Title: Living Organized: Proven Steps for a Clutter-Free and Beautiful Home
Author: Sandra Felton
Length: 222 pages
Genre: Home

Leave a Reply

