Tuesday Tip: Buy a Whole Chicken

 

Look at the price of conventional chicken at the grocery store and compare it to free-range, organic chicken and of course you will have a hard time buying it. It is difficult to spend $4.99/lb. when you could spend $1.99/lb. I used to just suck it up and spend it, telling myself over and over, “Pay for it now or pay for it later in health care because all the hormones and antibiotics are going to make you sick.” But I am now broker than broke, so as much as I love to justify my organic grocery shopping, I had to drastically reduce my expenditures.

There is a way to buy organic chicken and not spend any more (or much more at least): Buy a whole one.

I get mine for around $1.99/lb. This ends up being about $10-14, depending on the size. I take it home, butcher it up, divide it up into freezer bags that I can pull out for the weeks meals.

I get 3-4 meals out of these chickens (depending on how much chicken is in the meal) plus chicken stock, which basically can pay for the chicken itself and as far as taste and health benefit goes, priceless.

Here is step-by-step how to on cutting up a whole chicken.

I use the carcass and neck and any organs in the stock. After the chicken stock is made, I pick the meat from the bones and save it for a future use (soup, buffalo chicken dip, chicken salad, etc…)

Lower your grocery bill and increase the quality of food you eat, all with little effort if you are willing to coat your hands in chicken fat for a few minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

